Speaking up

I am SOOO preaching at myself on this on. Just to let all of you know. Lol.

Why don’t we SPEAK UP?! Huh?

Numero uno reason? Fear.

Fear.

Fear of what?

Fear of what others will think. Yeah. Pretty lame reason. Let’s look at this… What my peers and others think, versus, what my God and Savior think.

It’s not hard to figure out which way the scale goes.

I was listening to one of my favorite songs today (and am listening to it as I write this post).. and yes I have a lot of favorite songs… “What Life Would Be Like” by Big Daddy Weave.

The last line of the chorus really struck a chord with me; “what would life be like if we let Jesus live through you and me?”

I couldn’t help remember the story about  D.L. Moody. When he was young, before he started preaching, he was at a revival, and the preacher said something along the lines of: “The world has yet to see what can be done through a man who has surrendered fully to Christ.” He prayed that night and asked God to make him that man. Right before his death, D.L. Moody said: “This world has yet to see what can be done through a man who is fully surrendered to Christ.”

And yet, what an impact D.L. Moody made. He wanted to be that man, a man after God’s own heart, like David, and his work lasts to this day, and continues to touch people.

One man. One Christian. An amazing life and legacy, all for Christ.

Yet. There are so many Christians today who just sit there. They don’t even try. They laugh at the dirty joke, and move on. I saw a church sign that I really like: “God doesn’t want weekend visitation; He wants full custody.”

Such a thing as a weekend Christian should not, and cannot, exist. If you only burn with that fire on Sunday, or whatever day you worship, than something is wrong. It should be something that keeps you awake at night, praying. Something that makes you spring out of bed and fall to your knees in prayer. Everyday, in every way, living like Christ.

Not the best we can. The best we can is NOTHING. Attempting to do our best is something that destroys us, as believers. Because we are unable to do anything at all. Only God, through us, can accomplish the things of the kingdom. The harder that WE try, the harder it is for God to use us like He desires, to bless us in ways beyond imagination.

When we fully surrender our lives, when Christ is Lord of all (for if He is not Lord of all, then He is not Lord at all. A slightly overused saying, perhaps, but one that is very true to me), then He will shine through us. We won’t be able to sit and do nothing. If the least we can do is speak, then, we will speak. It’s as simple as that. It’s really not all the complicated.

Yet, how complicated we try to make it, don’t we? We try to ‘give it our best shot’ and totally screw it up. Because our best shot, our righteousness, “is but filthy rags.”

The song by Big Daddy Weave in the chorus also says: “He made the lame to walk, the dumb to talk, and He opened blinded eyes to see…”

That is the power of Christ. And that, we all know, isn’t even a true beginning of what our wonderful Lord and Savior can do. If we let Him.

You might say, well, how can I NOT let Him? You try to do YOUR best. And you don’t let God work through you.

Today, as I write this, I’m going to pray, and continue to pray, that I WON’T do my best. That I’ll simply surrender. I’m not going to do nothing. I’m sure I’ll be busier than ever. Because with God working in my life, how can I do anything but speak up, speak out, and respond with action?

I challenge you, and myself to make the same prayer as D.L. Moody: That we want to be that person. That person so on fire. That person totally surrendered. That person who HAS to speak out and can never be silent, for Christ will not allow them.

 

God bless,

~Daniel

7 thoughts on “Speaking up

  1. We talked about this in a family Bible study last Friday, and this morning, our family devotions talked about how we need not be afraid because God is on our side.

    I’m getting the hint that God is trying to tell me something….. *sigh*

    Very well said btw.

    • I get hints all the time. While they can be annoying (it annoys me that I can find God’s hints annoying.. XD) I am very glad for them.

      Thank you.

  2. I hear ya! This is something I think all Christians think about at some point, but many choose to ignore it.

    I think during this time in our country and world God is REALLY trying to talk to Christians.. and most are not listening. It is sad, but I am glad that there are some willing to “speak out”!

    I am proud of you and will be praying for you as I pray for myself.

  3. Extremely well put Daniel! I am proud of you for realizing this. It is so true that we (including myself) are not the light that we need to be! I am convicted all the time about how I am not living as I ought to, allowing Jesus to live through me. That is why Galatians 2:20 has meant so much to me over the course of my relationship with Christ. When we do surrender all, Christ is able to use us most. Thanks for speaking to all of us on a very important subject.

    • Thank you Nathan! That means a lot to me coming from you. 🙂
      Yes. How easy it is for people (including me) to just quote that verse… but to actually live it… *trails off* The Christian life involves some of the most simple, yet difficult of things; trust, surrender, and faith.

  4. Read your blog, son. It is a great discourse. God is at work in all of us all the time and for that we can be thankful. He never gives up on us even when there are times we give up on ourselves. He is the Faithful One! All of our expectations are from Him and we give account ONLY to HIM though He does put those in our paths to encourage us – “As iron sharpeneth iron…” His Word is there to reprove, rebuke, exhort and instruct. Listen and you will become that man of God that He has designed you to become. I am very pleased you have come to this place in your walk with the LORD; don’t let it slip. I love you. Pray for your Dad, I am still becoming. God bless.

Leave a Reply

