The 2012 OYAN Workshop

The 2012 OYAN Workshop. Was. Amazing.

I’ve thought for a while on what I could say about it, and a few of my friends have done amazing posts about it (Mig, Laura, Rachel), and have done a really great job of capturing it in words.

I don’t consider myself near a writer on their par, and to me, it truly was an indescribable experience.

Yet I feel compelled to try and say something about it, because OYAN has been, and continues to be, very life changing for me.

I was honored, and really hyped, to get to meet some people at the airport this year. Total blast, that, and really glad I was there. A few people I literally just couldn’t wait to see again.

Right off the bat, though, once I got back to campus from the airport, there was just this amazing feeling that crashed over me. Yeah. Crashed. I can’t think of a better way to describe it. It was love. And family. And there were 174 of them. And then once I got into the group, a few singled out from the crowd. My besties, and best. Mhm. Family.

Each morning started off with a small group reading the Bible and praying together, and that was really special to me.

Jeff Gerke and Mark Wilson – Amazing. Epic. Awesome. Inspiring.

Mrs. S – Incredible, as always.

Mr. S – Wow. Just wow. I cried during his last session. It was so powerful.

The critique groups were really awesome, and I was blessed to have some really great folks in mine. (The Sneak of Weasels… Y’all rock!!!) Some amazing writers are coming up. Each year more and more, and I am just so honored to be able to just *see* it.

I tend to be a bit … um… well, I like being with the people I know. Click-ish. haha. So I spent as much time as possible with my dear dear friends… it’s never enough though. I miss them terribly. But I get to see them again, I know. (*BOUNCE*)

Friday night remains totally amazing to me. There was a prayer circle, and, yeah. It was so awesome. I try not to single anyone out when I am thanking people, cause I usually end up forgetting someone and leaving them out, but…. Braden and Laura… Thank you so much. You two mean a lot to me, and I am really glad that you are who I was by.

God has renewed my passion for His things. He has shown me a glimpse of His kingdom that I’ve never had before, and I like it. And I want to be in His will and be a part of it.

In short, the Workshop was awesome.

I love all of you crazy OYANers.

God bless,
~Daniel

One thought on “The 2012 OYAN Workshop

  1. I concur with you.

    And you brought tears to my eyes 🙂 It was great getting to talk with you this year, Daniel. You are an amazing person.

Leave a Reply

