Everything to me

Image 

What are you living for? What am I living for?

I think that’s a question we should ask ourselves often. I’d be the first to admit that I should examine that in my own heart more often. Living for Jesus is… something to which there will never be an end of writing, speaking, recording, and commenting on. If one must make a single statement concerning Christ, though, of what He is, I truly hope that everyone who calls themselves a follower of Christ would say that “He is everything to me.”

I love my fiancée. I love her so very much. And she knows that. But if either of us love the other more than we love Christ, if we put each other before Jesus, then we are in the wrong. That is a place we should never be, doing something we should never do. Christ is first. That doesn’t mean that you can’t have fun, can’t have relationships, and can’t live a full, and good life, filled with adventure, and laughter, and what you desire to experience.

The thirst for Christ that is there when you place Him first in your life, it brings such vibrance, joy, and happiness, to the other areas of living. When there is a passion to seek Christ, and that is a passion shared between two, those two will always find themselves closer to each other. This is true of lovers, or friends, even complete strangers. The closer you are to God, the closer you seek to be to God, the closer you will be to those who seek the same.

The thing is, I see so many, sometimes myself included, having almost a fear to share, a fear to shine the light. It’s not that we hide it, or hide the fact we are Christians, but it is information we don’t usually volunteer, or put forth in an effort to be a witness. The world we live in is fragile. The time is always coming closer when it will truly be the end. We should have a desire to share with the world what we have. We should be pushing ourselves (not literally) on people. By that I mean that we should glow. We should glow with Jesus. So much so that they don’t need to ask if we are a Christian. So much so that they feel guilty about their worldly lives, feel guilty every time they cuss in front of you, so much so that they feel guilty when they cuss at all, because they think of their Christian friend, or coworker. We should be letting the Spirit use us freely, going where He leads. Not fearing for our jobs, or what people will think of us. This is about eternity, my friends. There is no excuse for timidity. No excuse for cowardice. God will always take care of us. What if He takes care of us how He took care of Dietrich Bonhoeffer? Well, I sincerely feel that that is up to Him. If He chooses to allow one of His children to die, even tortured or martyred, it will be for His glory, if through it all we are focused on Him.

“Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains or slavery?” … We all know who said that. He was speaking of liberty. And his next statement was “Forbid it, Almighty God!”

It’s so very famous.

A spark to the true American and patriot spirit.

But what does it say to those who follow the Almighty God? Is life so dear, so precious, is peace so sweet and treasured, that we would risk allowing one lost soul to slip into the eternal depths of Hell, for the sake of being called “intolerant,” or labeled as a right-winged conservative terrorist?

According to Solomon, the whole duty of man is to fear God (awe, reverence, and holy fear), and keep His commandments. (Ecc. 12:13, KJV)

Jesus, who is God in the flesh, commanded us to go out to the uttermost parts of the earth, and spread the Gospel, the Good News, of Him. We are to live for Him, to show His love and shine His light in the darkest places.

Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.” ~ Francis of Assisi

We are to preach through our lives.

Keep calm, people, and live for Jesus, and may He be EVERYTHING to you.

This song “Everything to Me” by Avalon, sums it all up whether well:

I grew up in Sunday school,
I memorized the Golden Rule,
And how Jesus came
To set the sinner free…
I know the story inside-out,
And I can tell you all about
The path that led Him up
To Calvary…
But ask me why He loves me,
And I don’t know what to say –
But I’ll never be the same,
Bacause He changed my life when He became…

(CHORUS)
Everything to Me –
He’s more than a story,
More than words on a page of history
He’s the Air that I breathe,
The Water I thirst for,
And the Ground beneath my feet —
He’s Everything…
Everything to Me…

We’re living in uncertain times,
And more and more, I find
That I’m aware of just
How fragile life can be…
I want to tell the world I’ve found
A love that turned my life around –
They need to know
That they can taste and see…
Now every day, I’m praying
Just to give my heart away
I want to live for Jesus
So that someone else might see that He is…

(CHORUS)
Everything to Me –
He’s more than a story,
More than words on a page of history
He’s the Air that I breathe,
The Water I thirst for,
And the Ground beneath my feet —
Oh, He’s Everything…

And looking back over my life at the end,
I’m gonna meet You,
Saying You’ve been
Everything to Me –
You’re more than a story,
More than words on a page of history…

(CHORUS)
You’re Everything to Me –
You’re more than a story,
More than words on a page of history
You’re the Air that I breathe,
The Water I thirst for,
And the Ground beneath my feet —
You’re Everything…
Lord, You’re Everything to Me…

Everything to Me…
You’re Everything to Me, Jesus…
Everything to Me…
The Air I breathe, the Song I sing…
Oh-oh…
Everything to Me…
You’re my Life and my All, yeah –
You’re Everything…

God bless,
~Daniel

One thought on “Everything to me

Leave a Reply

